Deal With It: Moving Past Difficult Emotions

Deal with it. Three little words that often indicate our frustration with someone who seems stuck in their life. A break-up, a loss, a traumatic incident. Three little words that say it’s time to stop complaining and move on.

Easily said. Not so easily done.

I’ve been educating people on how the subconscious mind makes connections between events and emotions, often linking totally unrelated things for many years now. For example, when I was young, my mother often made cookies as a special treat for us. Those cookies came to symbolize her love for us, and even today, eating home made cookies makes me feel loved (even if I’m the one who made them). When I hear a certain song, I’m reminded of my first love.

I have always had a certain fascination with fires. I like nothing better than to spend an entire evening sitting around a campfire, watching the flames. Snuggling on the couch with a fire lit and a glass of wine is the most romantic evening I can imagine. I find the flames, and the glowing embers hypnotic, the heat, and even the smell of the burning wood to be sublimely relaxing. Simply put, nothing says relaxation like a fire. Until it was my house on fire. Suddenly, the smell of smoke brings back that panicked feeling of knowing that I and those I love most in the world are in danger. I know it’s silly, but suddenly the idea of being in charge of building and maintaining the campfires this summer fills me with a certain dread and sadness. I know there is no connection between a well contained fire in a camp pit or fireplace and the flames that destroyed my house, but still… all it takes is a whiff to bring it back.

The subconscious mind is always at work protecting us. So that emotionalized, protective part of our mind pulls together input from our experiences and links them in an attempt to guide our behavior in dangerous situations, whether the danger is real or only a false alarm.

You may have had an experience like I just described. A situation in which a certain sound, sight, smell, touch, or even taste brings up an emotion that you either don’t understand or that you do understand but know is irrational. Hypnosis can help you break those unwelcome connections while maintaining your subconscious mind’s own natural protective functioning.

I have no doubt that I will be camping this summer. And given my penchant for trancing my camp mates in front of the fire, I have no doubt I’ll be smelling smoke there. But by then I’ll have dealt with it.

If you would like help dealing with troubling memories or emotions, give us a call at 616.550.3231 and schedule an appointment. Together, we can Deal With It.

About hypnotistlinda

I am a professional hypnotherapist in the Greater Grand Rapids, MI area. I work with all areas of hypnotherapy, specializing in smoking cessation, weight management, anxiety, and fibromyalgia treatment. Other common issues that bring people to hypnotherapy include personal and professional development, trauma resolution, phobia reversals, and sleep issues. I believe that each of us has the power to change our lives, by unleashing the full potential of our mind.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

