Deal with it: Pain

Pain is one of the most difficult and emotionally draining things that a person can deal with. For people with chronic pain conditions, such as Fibromyalgia, Chronic Regional Pain Syndrome, Migraines or Cluster Headaches, or Chronic Back Pain, pain seems to control every aspect of their lives. It interrupts their daily routine, making it difficult, if not impossible, to partake in everyday activities such as housework, holding down a job, or even enjoying their child’s baseball game or school Christmas pageant.

There are several ways in which hypnosis can help individuals with chronic pain live more comfortable and fulfilling lives. First, individuals with chronic pain can be taught relaxation responses that assist them to lower the intensity of their pain, sleep more deeply and restfully, and decrease the anxiety and stress of chronic pain. Second, they can also be taught to reduce their pain through many different techniques that either decrease, or in some cases, eliminate pain altogether. Self anesthesia or analgesia is a strikingly effective means of helping people with chronic pain syndromes take back control of their lives. Finally, hypnosis can help people with chronic pain syndromes to understand and heal the emotional impact that the pain has had on their lives.

Hypnotherapy for pain management requires a referral or prescription from your physician, since as you become more adept at managing your pain, your need for medications may decrease significantly, and any reduction or change in your medication must be done under the supervision of a licensed medical professional.

If you would like help in taking back control of your life in the face of chronic pain, contact us here, or call 616-550-3231 for more information or to schedule your appointment.

About hypnotistlinda

I am a professional hypnotherapist in the Greater Grand Rapids, MI area. I work with all areas of hypnotherapy, specializing in smoking cessation, weight management, anxiety, and fibromyalgia treatment. Other common issues that bring people to hypnotherapy include personal and professional development, trauma resolution, phobia reversals, and sleep issues. I believe that each of us has the power to change our lives, by unleashing the full potential of our mind.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Deal with it: Pain

  1. Nancy Steffes says:

    After struggling with CRPS for 17-1/2 years, having multiple surgeries, every medication available, Mayo Clinic, Cleveland Clinic and various local pain clinics, with minimal results, my husband suggested hypnosis therapy. I have to admit I was a bit skeptical. We met with Linda Knight in her Grand Rapids office and I was very impressed how professtional and caring she was. After trying a couple of hypnotic suggestions in her office during our first visit, I immediately became a believer. I have been working with Linda for six weeks and I have had so much success in pain control that I am amazed. Linda really listens to your individual information and uses it to personalize each session. I have been able to reduce my number ten pain level to a three at the first session, and now to a zero. She has successfully taught me how to do self hypnosis which allows me to achieve the same results on my own. I cannot thank Linda enough for changing my life and helping me get my pain under control.

Leave a Reply

