Reflections on the death of Robin Williams

Since I first heard of the death of Robin Williams earlier this week, and saw the outpouring of emotions this has caused, I’ve seen so many places, the quote, “Genie, you’re free.” At first, I thought that was a touching memorial, but the more that I ponder the senselessness of the death of a man who brought so much joy to so many people, the more I am coming to disagree.
My thoughts today come from my own experiences with depression and suicidal thoughts, as well of those of many people that I love.
What is it, I often wonder, what causes some people to follow through with such plans, and others to resist them… to press on to the other side of that abyss. And I wish I had the answer to that question. But I don’t. I do, however, have a theory.
The feelings and thoughts that lead any one person to act on their suicide plans are as varied as there are people in the world. In each of us, there is a spark that pushes us towards life. But as anyone who has ever built a fire knows, a spark does not necessarily mean a roaring fire. That spark needs fuel to continue burning. Sometimes it seems that there is just no more fuel. This feeling can feel so overpowering that it seems better to let the fire go out, than to continue working to build it up again.
If you are struggling with those feelings, please know that there is help, and there is hope. There is a breeze that can blow on that struggling spark, and can fan it once again into flame. Your life has a purpose, and only you can find that purpose. But the people who surround you in your life can help. Parents, friends, spouses, children, counselors, pastors… turn to them, let them help you rekindle not only the spark, but the blazing flame of life. If you feel you have no one to speak to, call 1-800-273-8255 The National Suicide Prevention Hotline.
It breaks my heart that Robin couldn’t find within himself the freedom to live. I pray that each of you do.

About hypnotistlinda

I am a professional hypnotherapist in the Greater Grand Rapids, MI area. I work with all areas of hypnotherapy, specializing in smoking cessation, weight management, anxiety, and fibromyalgia treatment. Other common issues that bring people to hypnotherapy include personal and professional development, trauma resolution, phobia reversals, and sleep issues. I believe that each of us has the power to change our lives, by unleashing the full potential of our mind.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

